Skip to content
Ringo Awards logo

2019 Ringo Awards

The 2019 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards were presented on the evening of Saturday, October 19, 2019.

Mike Wieringo Spirit Award

Fan Favorite Winners

Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist)

  • Echorise
  • Enjelicious
  • Terry Moore – Winner
  • Sean Murphy
  • Jim Woodring

Best Writer

  • Brian Michael Bendis
  • Richard Dent
  • Rylend Grant
  • Jeff Lemire
  • Scott Snyder
  • Brian K. Vaughan – Winner

Best Artist or Penciller

  • Joe Bennett
  • Shawn Daley
  • Ezra Claytan Daniels
  • Steve Ellis
  • Ronilson Freire
  • Dan Mora
  • Dustin Nguyen
  • Ryan Ottley
  • Sean Phillips – Winner

Best Inker

  • J.P. Mayer
  • Mark Morales
  • Ron Randall
  • Fiona Staples – Winner
  • Sana Takeda

Best Letterer

  • David Aja
  • Arechan
  • Taylor Esposito
  • Jared K. Fletcher
  • Todd Klein – Winner

Best Colorist

  • Tamra Bonvillain – Winner
  • Steve Conley
  • Matt Hollingsworth
  • Rachel Smythe
  • Dave Stewart
  • Matt Wilson
  • YaongYi

Best Cover Artist

  • Travis Charest
  • Nick Derington
  • Dan Mora
  • Sara Richard
  • Alex Ross
  • Fiona Staples – Winner
  • Jim Woodring

Best Series

Best Single Issue or Story

Best Original Graphic Novel

Best Anthology

Best Humor Comic

Best Comic Strip or Panel

Best Webcomic

Best Non-fiction Comic Work

Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel

Best Presentation in Design

The 2019 Ringo Awards Professional Jury...



Owner and Manager of Aw Yeah Comics in Muncie, Indiana. Writer of comics including Tales from the Crypt and The Damnation of Charlie Wormwood.



Vice President of Purchasing at Diamond Comic Distributors. Former reviewer at and participated in Emerson College’s Graphic Novel Certificate program.



Illustrator of the acclaimed graphic novel series Black Panther: World of Wakanda. Other works include: Attack on Titan, and covers for X-Men ’92, Captain Marvel, Captain America & the Mighty Avengers, and All-Star Batman.



Award-winning editor, shepherding such titles as Frank Miller’s Sin City, Dark Horse Presents, DK2, Batman: Hush, Sweet Tooth, Batman: Year 100, Daytripper, and many others. He has served as editor for such talents as Neil Gaiman, Harlan Ellison, Bernie Wrightson, Fiona Staples, Frank Miller, and many others. Bob also co-founded Oni Press.



Longtime comics industry journalist and the Executive Director at the Cartoon Crossroads Columbus (CXC). Former editor of The Comics Journal and current editor of The Comics Reporter. Co-author of books including Stan Lee And The Rise And Fall Of The American Comic Book, The Romita Legacy, and We Told You So: Comics As Art.

Industry Veteran Bob Wayne Delivers 2019 Ringo Awards Keynote Address

The Ringo Awards Committee is proud to announce the addition of comics industry veteran Bob Wayne to the 2019 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards ceremony as the Keynote Address speaker!

Bob Wayne was born in Fort Worth, Texas. With the same last name as Bruce Wayne, it’s appropriate that he learned to learn to read from Batman and Superman comics. The first comic he remembers purchasing was Superman #137, cover dated May 1960.

A comics and science fiction convention dealer in the 1970s, he was account #40 with Phil Seuling’s Seagate Distributors. He opened a retail store in 1980 just in time to sell copies of the Dark Phoenix Saga and the debut of the Wolfman/Pérez New Teen Titans. From August 1987 to April 2015, he was at DC Comics, rising to the position of Senior Vice President – Sales.

In 2009, he received the Inkpot Award from Comic-Con International: San Diego, which he has attended every year for the last 35 years. In 2012, he received the ComicsPRO Industry Appreciation Award. Founding ComicsPRO President Joe Field noted at the time: “I would venture to say that no one in this room knows more about comics or the comics industry than Bob Wayne.”

In 2019, he delivered the keynote speech at the annual ComicsPRO retailer meeting, and was an invited guest of Comic-Con International for the 50th San Diego Comic-Con.

His published work includes stories in Charlton’s Scary Tales and DC’s Secret Origins, as well as contributions to The Comics Journal, Lone Star Book Review, and MAD Magazine. He’s the co-author (with Lewis Shiner) of DC’s Time Masters, one of the precursors to the Legends of Tomorrow television series on The CW. He created the Card Sharks for George R.R. Martin’s long-running Wild Cards series, now in development at Hulu. He’s currently a business consultant in the publishing industry and serves on the Advisory Board of the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund (CBLDF). He remains grateful that his mother never threw away any of his comics.

“It’s an honor to be a part of the Ringo Awards at the Baltimore Comic-Con as this year’s keynote speaker,” said Wayne. “I will attempt to share my lifelong passion for comics, the people who make them, the people who sell them, and the people who read them. Years ago, I promised Marc that I would do this speech and start it with a joke. Lucky for me I didn’t promise him it would be a good joke.”

“I’ve been lobbying to get Bob up on the dais for some time,” said Marc Nathan, Baltimore Comic-Con promoter. “He is a titan in the comics industry, he’s got amazing perspective on where we’ve been and where we’re going, and I cannot wait to hear what he has to say. He did an amazing job at ComicsPRO earlier this year, and the people attending the Ringos are in for a treat.”

Back To Top