Skip to content
Ringo Awards logo

2020 Ringo Awards

The 2020 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards were presented during a virtual event on the evening of Saturday, October 24, 2020.

Mike Wieringo Spirit Award

Fan Favorite Winners

Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist)

  • Sarah Andersen
  • Eleanor Davis
  • Jaime Hernandez
  • Kevin Huizenga
  • Junepurr
  • Stan Sakai – Winner
  • Raina Telgemeier
  • David Jesus Vignolli

Best Writer

  • Drew Edwards
  • Jeff Lemire
  • Mark Russell
  • Erica Schultz
  • Mariko Tamaki – Winner

Best Artist or Penciller

  • Chris Campana
  • Colleen Doran
  • Sanford Greene – Winner
  • Rosemary Valero-O’Connell
  • Marianna Pescosta

Best Inker

  • Keith Champagne
  • Marika Cresta
  • Sandra Hope – Winner
  • Maria Llovet
  • Dan Mora
  • Hyeondo Park

Best Letterer

  • Deron Bennett
  • Jim Campbell
  • Clayton Cowles
  • Jared K. Fletcher
  • HdE
  • Nate Piekos – Winner
  • Cardinal Rae

Best Colorist

  • Jordie Bellaire – Winner
  • Alessandro de Fornasari
  • Edson Ferreira
  • Laura Martin
  • Dave Stewart

Best Cover Artist

  • Fabio Alves
  • Natasha Alterici
  • Stephanie Hans
  • Sana Takeda – Winner
  • Christian Ward

Best Series

Best Single Issue or Story

Best Original Graphic Novel

Best Anthology

Best Humor Comic

Best Comic Strip or Panel

Best Webcomic

Best Non-fiction Comic Work

Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel

Best Presentation in Design

The 2020 Ringo Awards Professional Jury...



Directs comics and graphic novel licensed publishing at Nickelodeon, and is a founder and consulting editor-in-chief of the book producer Pageturner. Former senior editor at DC Comics/Vertigo and a syndicated cartoonist.



Multi-award-winning author, editor, and publisher. President of American Mythology Comics. Vice President at Dynamite Entertainment. Former Managing Editor at Avatar Press, and Director of Purchasing at Diamond Comic Distributors.



A ten-time Eisner Award-winning comic book creator best known for her creations The Scary Godmother and Magic Trixie, her award-winning graphic novel Wonder Woman: The True Amazon, as well as her collaborations with Neil Gaiman on The Sandman, Grant Morrison on The Invisibles, Will Pfeifer on Finals, Evan Dorkin on Beasts of Burden, Mick Foley on Tales From Wrescal Lane, and many more.



Associate professor in the School of Information Sciences at University of Illinois. Currently she is working on a cultural history of how young readers read, used, and subverted comics in the mid-20th century US to create a vibrant popular print culture. Tilley is a past president of the Comics Studies Society.



Writer and artist of American Born Chinese, a National Book Award finalist, and winner of the Printz Award and Eisner Award. His Boxers & Saints won the L.A. Times Book Prize and was a National Book Award Finalist. His other works include Secret Coders (with Mike Holmes), The Shadow Hero (with Sonny Liew), Superman from DC Comics (with various artists), and Avatar: The Last Airbender from Dark Horse Comics (with Gurihiru). In 2016, he was named a MacArthur Foundation Fellow.

Kevin Smith to Introduces Geoff Johns as 2020 Ringo Awards Keynote Speaker

The Ringo Awards Committee is proud to announce the addition of comics industry veteran Geoff Johns to the 2020 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards ceremony as the Keynote Address speaker!

Film and comics legend, Kevin Smith will open the show and introduce his friend, Geoff, as the keynote speaker.

After graduating Michigan State University, Geoff moved to Los Angeles and began assisting legendary Superman director Richard Donner. While filming on set in New York, Geoff started his comic book career with Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. for DC Comics. A New York Times best-selling author, Geoff has written some of the most recognized and highly-acclaimed superhero stories of the modern era, the most recent being the critically-acclaimed Watchmen sequel entitled Doomsday Clock with longtime collaborator, illustrator Gary Frank.

Under his Mad Ghost Productions banner, Geoff currently serves as an Executive Producer and Showrunner on Warner Bros. Television series Stargirl, which he created for The CW, among other various film and television projects.

Geoff was proudly born in Detroit. He currently resides in Los Angeles.
“Geoff and Mike Wieringo were friends,” said Marc Nathan, Baltimore Comic-Con promoter. “Mike actually did the original Stargirl sketch for Geoff, which he has to this day. It is an honor to have him with us this year, and we’re really looking forward to his speech.”

Back To Top